Subject guide

Psychology

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Psychology

Last update: November 2023
Subjects: The Psychology collection is closely connected to research and education of the Institute of Psychology of Leiden University. Themes are: Cognitive Psychology, Health, Medical and Neuropsychology, Clinical Psychology, Methodology and Statistics, Developmental and Educational Psychology, and Social and Organisational Psychology.
Materials: E-journals, e-books, databases with materials for research and education, and printed books.

The collection printed books and journals is partly placed in open stacks at the Social and Behavioural Sciences Library, and partly in closed stacks of the University Library and the Van Steenis Building. All books can be requested by using the Library Catalogue and will be delivered at the location of preference.

The collection in the Library of Social and Behavioural Sciences is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Titles in the field of Psychology are mostly placed in categories BF, HM and RC.

Prescribed course readings are set aside on course reserve shelves behind the desk of the Library. These books cannot be borrowed but are available for reading in the library, for photocopying and scanning.

Find our databases on Psychology in the catalogue.

To the catalogue

Frequently used databases for searching articles are:

PsycInfo of the American Psychological Association (APA). This is an important database on psychology and psychological topics from related disciplines as medicine, education, sociology, linguistics, and anthropology.

Web of Science with articles on all disciplines in journals with large academic impact.

For Clinical and Health, Medical & Neuropsychology relevant databases are also:

PubMed of the US National Library of Medicine with biomedical articles.

Embase is a biomedical database which compared to PubMed contains more European literature.

EMCare with articles from international nursing and allied health sciences journals.

For an overview of Psychology journals click on Explore journals on the right. The journals are categorized by subject. The journals with the highest academic impact (journal rank) are presented on top.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition (2015)

Oxford Handbooks Online: click 'Browse by Subject' > 'Science and Mathematics' > 'Psychology' (or 'Neuroscience')

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology

SAGE Research Methods Online on quantitative and qualitative research methods

For Clinical and Health, Medical & Neuropsychology:

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Psyflix: passion for psychotherapy/ Pilot subscription till May 1, 2025

For Clinical and Health, Medical & Neuropsychology:

The Cochrane Library with systematic reviews of medical interventions

For Developmental and Educational Psychology:

The Campbell Library with systematic reviews of interventions in education, crime and social welfare

Fore more information see the subject guide Systematic Reviews