Subject guide

Education and Child Studies

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Education and Child Studies

Last update: June 2023
Subjects: The Education and Child Studies collection is closely connected to research and education of the Institute of Education and Child Studies of Leiden University. Themes are: Child and Family Studies, Educational Studies and Clinical Child and Adolescent Studies. Subjects are: development disorders, learning problems, problem behavior, child abuse, adoption, attachment, youth care, day care, early childhood, multicultural issues, literacy, neuro-pedagogy.
Materials: E-journals, e-books, databases with materials for research and education, and printed books.

The collection printed books and journals is partly placed in open stacks at the Social and Behavioural Sciences Library, and partly in closed stacks of the University Library and the Van Steenis Building. All books can be requested by using the Library Catalogue and will be delivered at the location of preference.

The collection in the Library of Social and Behavioural Sciences is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Titles in the field of Education and Child Studies are mostly placed in categories HQ, LB and LC.

Prescribed course readings are set aside on course reserve shelves behind the desk of the Library. These books cannot be borrowed but are available for reading in the library, for photocopying and scanning.

Databases Education and Child Studies

Go to the Catalogue for databases related to Education and Child Studies

Go to the Catalogue

Frequently used databases for searching articles are:

PsycInfo of the American Psychological Association (APA). This is an important database on psychology and psychological topics from related disciplines as medicine, education, sociology, linguistics, and anthropology.

Web of Science with articles on all disciplines in journals with large academic impact.

Social Services Abstracts on social work, social welfare, poverty, addiction, abuse.

Sociological Abstracts on sociology and related disciplines.

For Educational Studies a relevant database is:

ERIC – Educational Resources Information Center of the US Ministry of Education.

For Clinical Child and Adolescent Studies:

PubMed of the US National Library of Medicine with biomedical articles.

Embase is a biomedical database which, compared to PubMed, contains more European literature.

EMCare with articles from international nursing and allied health sciences journals

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition (2015)

International Encyclopedia of Education

Oxford Handbooks Online: click 'Browse by Subject' > 'Science and Mathematics' > 'Psychology' (or 'Neuroscience')

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Psychology

SAGE Research Methods Online on quantitative and qualitative research methods

Docuseek2

For Clinical Child and Adolescent Studies:

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Psyflix: passion for psychotherapy/ Pilot subscription till May 1, 2025

The Campbell Library with systematic reviews of interventions in education, crime and social welfare.

For Clinical Child and Adolescent Studies:

The Cochrane Library with systematic reviews of medical interventions

For more information see the subject guide Systematic Reviews