Subject guide

Criminology

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Criminology

Subjects: Criminological theory, Research methods, Criminal Justice, Crimmigration, Human trafficking, Economic crime, Criminal careers, Prisons and prison sentence, Victimology, Safety, Criminalistics
Geographical areas: Focus on The Netherlands, European countries and the United States
Materials: Books, reference works and journals (print and online), databases

The collection Criminology is part of the Law collections. The Law Library is located in the centre of the Kamerlingh Onnes Building. The collection is placed in open stacks and easily accessible. The books are arranged by subject and have a country code when relevant. The journals are arranged by number. Recent issues of printed journals however are displayed in alphabetical order in separate bookcases.

Shelf marks and information on availability can be found by searching the Catalogue.

The shelf mark of the collection Criminology starts with the indication JURBIB CRIM, the shelf mark of the collection Criminal Law starts with JURBIB STRAF. A list of shelf marks is available at the desk of the Law Library.

Except for reference works and reading list materials, most books of the collection Criminology are available for loan. Books can be borrowed at the circulation desk of the Law Library. It is also possible to request and borrow books via the Catalogue from other collections such as the University Library and the library of Social and Behavioural Sciences.The University Library also holds publications in the field of criminology, especially older books and older editions.

Find our databases on Criminology in the catalogue.

To the catalogue

Catalogue: the full text of many e-journal articles is available through the Catalogue.

Frequently used databases for searching articles:

Criminal Justice Abstracts is a bibliographical database that allows for searching articles in international journals in the field of criminology and criminal justice. It provides abstracts, citations and references for many articles.

Web of Science is a bibliographical database that consists of three different citation databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present). Web of Science contains abstracts of journal articles and books, references and citations.

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice: a broad online reference work with an international perspective in the fields of criminology and criminal justice.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition, 2015): a comprehensive online reference work for the social and behavioural sciences. Several indexes are available for searching for relevant articles.

Oxford Handbooks Online: handbooks in the field of criminology and criminal justice, political science, law, business and management, economics and finance are full text available on the platform of Oxford Handbooks Online. These handbooks can be searched simultaneously as well as individually.