British and Irish Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers contains full-text of:

• The Guardian (1959-2003); London (UK)
• The Irish Times (1859-2010)
• The Manchester Guardian (1821-1825; 1828-1959); Manchester (UK)
• The Manchester Guardian and British Volunteer (1825-1828); Manchester (UK)
• The Observer (1791- 2003); London (UK)

Irish newspaper archives (1846-…) is an online database of Irish newspapers ranging from the 1700s to the present.

British Newspapers 1600-1900 contains:

• The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers: the largest collection of English newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries. This collection contains full-text of newspaper articles, pamphlets and books, compiled by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817).
• The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full-text of 48 British newspapers, selected by the British Library.

French Newspapers

Gallica holds the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale and contains a selection of digitized newspapers from the period 1823-1944, including:

• Combat (1941-1948)
• La Croix (1888-1944)
• Le Figaro (1826-1942)
• L’Humanité (1904-1944)
• Le Temps (1861-1942)

German Newspapers

ZEFYS, run by the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, provides access to 193 digitized German newspapers from the period 1739-1946, including:

• Berliner Börsen-Zeitung (1857-1930)
• Berliner Volkszeitung (1890-1930)
• Die rote Fahne (1918-1933)

DiFMOE offers a collection of digitized German periodicals from Central and Eastern Europe.

Austrian Newspapers

ANNO is an initiative of the Östreichische Nationalbibliothek and contains an ever-growing collection of digitized newspapers, including:

• Arbeiter-Zeitung (1889-1985)
• Die Unzufriedene (1923-1934)
• Das Vaterland (1923-1934)

Swiss Newspapers

e-newspaperarchives.ch provides access to 142 Swiss periodicals digitized by the Swiss National Library and its cantonal partners, covering the period 1692-2018.

Russian Newspapers

The Current Digest of the Russian Press (1949-...) is a weekly collection of Soviet cq Russion Press articles translated into English by the US American Joint Committee on Slavonic Studies.

ProQuest historical newspapers (1851-2016) provides access to:

• New York Times (1851-2016)
• Washington Post (1877-2003)

Access to current editions of the New York Times 

American Periodicals provides access to 1,889 US American periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including:

• The African Repository (1850-1892)
• The Defender (1890-1920)
• The Ladies' Home Journal (1889-1907)

Chronicling America holds 3,263 digitized historical newspapers published in the US between 1836 and 1922.

English language newspapers on/from Asia

English language newspapers on/from Asia

Japan Chronicle (1902–1940)
Digitized version of the English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly.

Japan Times Archive (1897 and 2016)
Digitized version of the English-language Japan Times.

Japan Times (current)
Access to the current edition of the Japan Times.

The Korea times (1956-2016)
Digitized version of the English-language Korea Times.

The Oriental Economist (1934-1985)
Digitized version of the English-language Oriental Economist.

Chinese Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers - Chinese Newspapers Collection
Contains the full text of various Chinese newspapers.

Japanese Newspapers

Asahi Shinbun
Digitized version of one of Japan’s main newspapers.

Yomiuri Online
Online edition of the Daily Yomiuri

Korean Newspapers

See also the Subject Guide Korean Studies: Newspapers, TV & Media

Naver nyuseu raibeureori (Korean Newspapers)
Digital archive for articles from four major Korean newspapers between 1920 and 1999

Newsstand
Contains archives of 30 Korean newspapers and magazines

South East Asian Newspapers

World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers from the 19th and early 20th Centuries
This database offers access to a select group of South Asian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

For an extensive overview of digital and digitised Middle Easter newspapers, see the subject guide Middle Eastern Studies and Leiden University's Guide to Middle East News Databases.

Al-Ahram (1876-2014)
Digitized version of one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East.

Middle Eastern and North African newspapers
An open access collection containing a considerable number of Middle Eastern and North African newspapers in Arabic, English and French.

Nexis Uni is an online archive for news sources. It gives access to articles from local, national and international newspapers and magazines. Dutch news sources include de Volkskrant, NRC Handelsblad, Trouw, het Algemeen Dagblad, het Parool, De Telegraaf, and news magazines such as De Groene Amsterdammer and Elsevier Weekblad. Foreign news sources accessible are The Times, The New York Times, Le Monde, El País, but also hundreds of newsmagazines, for instance Fortune.

In addition, Nexis Uni contains mostly American legal sources and caselaw, and information about Dutch and international companies, such as financial information, annual reports, board and committee memberships, or remuneration. Archives go back to 40 years. Sources can be highlighted, saved and shared. Nexis Uni is updated daily.

BBC Monitoring (1996-…) is a longstanding service of the British BBC, monitoring news sources across the world and publishing English-language reports about them. The digital archive goes back until 1996. On paper, the archive even goes back until 1939, but this archive is only available on request from BBC Monitoring. Originally, BBC Monitoring focused on radio and later television, but newspapers have been included since the mid-1990s.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974–1996) was a service of the American CIA, which used to monitor the news on radio and television in all countries of the world and to create daily summaries.

Many newspapers and magazines offer the opportunity to search their digital archives through their website. Sometimes even complete archives of various newspapers or magazines are available through the Internet, free of charge. A starting point for finding these periodicals can be the List of online newspaper archives (Wikipedia) and the List of online magazines (Wikipedia). This will link you to among other:

Hathi Thrust Digital Library, a not-for-profit collaboration of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items, which provides access to magazines such as:

• The Atlantic Monthly (1857-1976)
• Harper's new monthly magazine (1843-1900)
• The Economist (1843-1995)

Google Books provides access to a number of digitized historical newspapers and magazines, including:

• Ebony (1959-2008)
• LIFE Magazine (1935-1972)
• New York Magazine (1965-1997)

Recent issues of the following newspapers/magazines can be consulted in the UB-Lounge in the Huygens Information Centre: 

• Die Zeit
• El País
• Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
• New Statesman
• The Guardian Weekly
• The New Yorker
• The Spectator
• The Sunday Times