Refine the search result in the left column with Resource type = Video. If Video is not shown, click More options under Resource type.

• Beeld en Geluid: national institute for preserving, making available and presenting the national audiovisual heritage. The website contains over 800,000 hours of radio, television, film and music. Most material can be requested against payment.

• NPODoc: documentaries of the public broadcasters.

• IDFA.tv: online documentaries that have been screened at the International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam in the past. Available for free or for a small fee. 

• Het Geheugen van Nederland: image database offered by the Koninklijke Bibliotheek. Provides access to the digitised heritage of more than a hundred institutions and offers video and sound fragments in addition to text and images.

• Eye filmdatabase: (fragments from) films from the Netherlands from around 1900 - 1930 offered on the site of Eye, the national film museum.

• Fries Film Archief: contains thousands of films, much of which is historical material and material from private individuals. Part of this collection is available online.

• Moving Image Archive: huge archive with over a million films, videos and television broadcasts available for free.

• EUscreen: online collection of television programmes and archive material from European audiovisual archives.

• Europeana: the website contains information and links to cultural and scientific collections from all over Europe, including films and music clips.

• British Library Sounds: large collection of sound clips, including music, oral history, dialects and environmental sounds.

• British Pathé: channel on YouTube, with more than 85,000 historical news reports and documentaries from the 20th century.

• Associated Press Archive: the film and video archive of the Associated Press. This YouTube collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video clips, the first of which date back to 1895.

Online streaming

Most films and documentaries can be streamed within and outside the university network via the Catalogue. Guest users can access most materials only within the UBL buildings, on one of the fixed computers or on a laptop or tablet they have brought themselves.

DVDs and CDs

In our collection we have a large number of DVDs and CDs with visual and audio material. These can be requested via the Catalogue. Please note that films and documentaries that have a place at the Social Sciences Library can be requested directly at the desk in the library itself.

DVDs, CDs, cassettes, etc. are not on loan. Viewing or listening can be done on your own laptop (an external DVD player can be borrowed from the lending desk at the University Library and the Wijnhaven Library) or on the equipment available for that purpose at one of the following locations:

• Multimediaruimte in the Huygens Information Centre (University Library)
• Cinema Room Vos (Asian Library)
• Social and Behavioral Sciences

Employees of Leiden University may borrow DVDs and other audiovisual materials, for a maximum of three days.

Do you want to use a video or audio clip during a presentation or in a paper? Then take a look at the webpages Use of video and audio and Frequently Asked Questions (Surf Netwerk Auteursrechten Informatiepunten). 

CiteThemRight (Bloomsbury Publishing) provides information on how to cite music clips, films, radio programmes, DVDs and other media in different styles. Look under the Media and Art tab.